What kind of dance should I learn?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by nirojs, Oct 22, 2010.

1. nirojs

nirojs New Member

I'm completely new to dancing, I have never ever danced before in my life. I wish to learn how to dance so if ever a girl wants to dance, I'm not standing there looking at the floor.
    My university has really cheap student courses.
    I want to learn a dance that shows class, I hate club stuff like grinding.
    I want one that makes me look sophisticated and classy. I'd also prefer something fast paced since I get bored easy. Also I'm super shy and I want to change that, I dislike getting touched and hugging people as well, I really want to change that.

The only hobby I've ever done is amateur boxing and I've competed for 3 years and I'm really good with skip ropes. I would have chosen mma but I hate rubbing up against other guys ugggh.

I did some research and salsa looked pretty good, What do you guys suggest? Also is there any like etiquette that a newb should know before I go to my first class.

2. megeliz

megeliz Member

For me, it's all about the music. Learn to dance to the music that you like. Do you like salsa music? Great, learn salsa! Like swing music? Learn East Coast Swing or Lindy Hop! Want to learn to dance in a classier way to the stuff you hear in clubs? Learn Hustle or West Coast Swing! Decide what kind of music you'll want to hear for hours on end every night you dance, and learn to dance to it.

3. nirojs

nirojs New Member

Wow thanks for the suggestions, lindy hop looks amazing, these dancers are on crack!!

4. Peaches

Peaches Well-Known Member

Pick the kind of music that appeals to you and start there. Or go online and watch videos of ballroom dancing and salsa dancing and west coast swing dancing and argentine tango and lindy and country...and see what appeals to you. Go to a variety of beginner classes and see what catches your fancy.

5. jennyisdancing

jennyisdancing Active Member