Swing Discussion Boards > To troupe or not to troupe?

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by RainyDay13, Apr 23, 2017.

?

Should I join the troupe?

1. Yes, join!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No, stick to social dances

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. RainyDay13

RainyDay13 New Member

Hello everyone. I am new to swing dancing, I was introduced to it late December, and I've been religiously attending weekly classes and social dances since early January. I absolutely love swing. I have found a passion I never even knew I had, and I can't get enough. I even found a social dance to attend when I visited my best friend in another state and dragged her along with me. Now, to get to the point. Or at least start to.

A couple of the instructors at the studio I typically dance at are forming a troupe, which if I join would mean more practice, workshops, new skills, and a lot more opportunities to learn and dance more. Which is great. But there's 2 problems.

#1 - I have pretty severe depression, and swing dancing is the first thing I've found that helps me fight it. One of the worst things about depression is that it takes the things you love and makes you disinterested, or just not want to do them any more, even though you love them. I'm terrified that this will happen with swing, and I'm worried that if I join this troupe it will happen faster.

#2 - I really don't like one of the girls who is joining the troupe, to the point where it affects my enthusiasm for the dance. She showed up halfway through one of the lindy lessons and paired with me as a lead. It was only my second ever lindy class and I was already nervous. She tripped me up, then laid into me about being a bad follow. The next week she kept cutting the instructors off and adding her own comments or directions. Now she is experienced, I'll give her that, but it struck me as extremely disrespectful not to mention disrupting. She's intimidating and just really off-putting.