The Lonely Life of a Ballroom Instructor

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Monsieur Fatso, Oct 1, 2012.

1. Monsieur Fatso

Monsieur Fatso New Member

I've been teaching ballroom dance for 6 months. I had never danced before. Since I started I have lost 45lbs and learned a lot of people/business skills that only add to what my university taught me about marketing.

For those of you who are students and not instructors it may come as a surprise to you that most instructors work ALOT. It's not unusual for me to work a 50-60 hour work week. I go out with my staff sometimes social dancing at places you wouldn't expect to see ballroom dancing, like clubs for example. This does result in attention from women outside of my ballroom dance world, but it never really goes anywhere. I teach all day and at the end of the day it's easy to go out dancing, but I can't really find the energy to muster up teaching any potential girlfriends how to dance. I don't want to date a staff member because most my staff agrees, we don't s**t where we eat.

My question out there for other young instructors is this. How do you go about dating? I would prefer a partner who does what I do, because let's face it, dancing is where it's at. It's fun to go out and dance and get those envious stares, but where do you even start? Do you date other staff? Other instructors from other studios? I'm young and I want to be sucessful at a young age. I know it requires focus, but part of that is not hitting the local clubs that lack quality people and also not doing it every night. I'm sure there's no right answer to this... but I'm just curious about other young professional instructor's dating life/situation. Are you single and if not, does your partner dance? I see so many amazing pro partners who are married. How does this happen so much?

2. Steven123

Steven123 Member