Tango Argentino > Sidestep leading?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by A.Victor, Nov 28, 2013.

1. A.Victor

A.Victor Member

Hello!
    I've been practicing argentinian tango for the last three months and I want to ask some questions, if I may, as they come from my practice.

First I want to say that I love tango a lot and that I think about it dayly and play tango songs in my head. I'm from Romania. I'm 30 years old.
    My purpose right now is to master the steps to the point where I would be able to flow from one step into another with ease and at will, from any position.

With these being said, how do I lead a sidestep, for the woman to do a forward ocho, BUT without me actually moving my feet from the floor?
    I am not allower to lead with my arms and I've been doing this technique by moving my weight towards the way I want the follower to move, but it makes me lose balance and she doesn't get everytime what I want from her (I dance with many partners during a class).
    I believe that a good tango dancer can dance with anyone (my teacher is able to lead a beginner through new steps with ease without her knowing the techniques).

2. opendoor

opendoor Well-Known Member

o_O you are standing in front of each other without physical contact and with your arms hanging loosely down at your side?

Ok, not really dance-orientated, but can be done.

The follower has to copy your moves mirror-inverted. Only make tiny intentional moves with your upper torso and watch how she reacts.

Bring her weight on one leg by an intentional move of your torso to one side first. Then twist your shoulders slightly by a tiny torsion of your upper body. This should make her pivoting on her weighted foot.

Last edited: Nov 28, 2013
  3. A.Victor

A.Victor Member

Thank you for your quick answer, but there is physical contact.
    We are in open embrace, I have to lead her into a forward ocho without actually moving my feet (they are close to eachother, touching).