New to argentine tango, introductions and seeking good music

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Dren, Jan 20, 2013.

1. Dren

Dren New Member

Hi everyone, I'm an argentine tango newbie. I've recently been attending a variety of tango, salsa, and bachata classes. I'm new but so far I prefer tango and bachata. I've been to two 3 hour tango classes now (with socializing/milonga for the last hour).

Tango seems like a good fit for me and with my current college schedule it's the only one that I will be able to consistently attend anyway.

I like the expressive freedom that tango seems to offer and it's elegant/minimalist/deliberate character seems to fit my personality pretty well. I didn't particualry enjoy shaking my body around flamboyantly in salsa. Argentine tango has a nice presence and passive strength to it.

I've barely danced at all in my life, although I feel like I might want to make this a new hobby. I'm 24 years old. The first time I went to tango I pretty much didn't even know what lead and follow even meant. I was absolutely terrible the first time, but by the second time it felt much better (in part because the 1st time, unbeknownest to newbie me, a few of my partners were backleading me almost constantly, making me very awkward).

I've noticed there's not many young people at tango and the number of people is significantly less than salsa or bachata. It's a little bit worrisome that it might be difficult to find people to dance it with. I like the dance though...

Unfortunately, I've noticed a lot of the "traditional tango music" sounds rather awful to my ears. However, I've found a few pieces of tango music I like searching the internet. Some might be considered alternative tango I believe.

Here's some of the one's I've found so far that I like:

Libretango
    Adio Kerida (by Yasmine Levy)
    Tango to Evora
    Tango para Abel
    Sentimientos
    Tango (by Kenny G)

Libretango is my favorite. I like the speed and energy of it.