Ballroom Dance > Need help re: Paso Doble costume.

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by dedmeet, Jul 6, 2009.

1. dedmeet

dedmeet New Member

First off, hello! This is my first time posting here. I have been reading some of the forums for a while, but figured this might be a good place to post a question.

Background: I have been dancing about four years doing ballroom dancing at the local studio with a smattering of public exhibition and group performances under my belt.

This year, my coach and partner have wrangled me into doing the Paso Doble - dance that no one at our studio has done in many years. I am enjoying learning the new dance and look forward to performing it in our upcoming showcase.

Here is the issue: I really have no idea what to wear for a costume! Especially when you figure in this factor - I am a plus-size guy (2XLT or 3XL shirts).

My question: what kind of costumes, shirts, jackets, etc. can you suggest for a plus-size guy doing the Paso Doble and needing to stick to a pretty tight budget? It does not need to be too fancy, but reasonable cost and being suitable for a larger man is a must!

Some have suggested an ensemble of black pants, white shirt, and a black and gold bolero jacket over top. Whaddya think?

Thanks for any and all help you care to provide!

2. contracheck

contracheck New Member

To me, Bolero Jackets work well for a showcase, which obviously needs some extra flare and drama. There are hundreds of Bolero jackets in all sizes at eBay under $20. I cover these Jackets with about $700 worth of carefully chosen rhinestones, but you don't have to cover the jacket with rhinestones completely. I have about a dozen of them now in all colors. They look so good that my eagle-eyed coach asked me to sell some of them to her new students, but I refused. If you watch Dancing with the Stars, most of the Paso jackets the dancers wear are Bolero jackets.

3. and123

and123 Well-Known Member