Ballroom Dance > I want to learn ballroom dancing, but...

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by airneri, Feb 8, 2008.

1. airneri

airneri New Member

I am new to this sport and besides seeing it on TV...I know nothing! I want to start taking a class, but I don't have a partner (hubby is in an out-of-state school). I wanted to know if it was possible to take a group class without bringing a partner. Is it a big deal? I don't want to be in the corner looking at everybody else dance, if you know what I mean.

I was hoping to sign up soon and start dancing:banana:! Any input or advice is appreciated...

2. fascination

fascination Site Moderator Staff Member

welcome...and be assured it is absolutely not neccessary to take a partner to a group class...my husband travels alot and I go by myself more often that I go with him

3. airneri

airneri New Member

What if I go to a class and I'm the only one without a partner? How does that usually work? This is probably a stupid question, but like I said...I am clueless:confused:!

4. fascination

I would find that highly unlikely ...and even so...partners usually are asked to rotate...and even then, if folks were unwilling(again highly unlikely) the studio would provide a solution

5. waltzgirl

waltzgirl Active Member

Most of the time, group classes are set up so that everyone rotates regularly, even people who come with someone. Usually, the guys are in a line and the ladies move down a partner whenever the instructor says to. Most teachers believe you learn better this way, rather than repeating the same mistakes with the same partner. :)

When you find a place you would like to take classes, call them to be sure they rotate in group classes. Do you have a place in mind?

6. airneri

airneri New Member