Finding a teacher ... how much do pedigrees matter?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by pygmalion, Mar 23, 2013.

1. pygmalion

pygmalion Well-Known Member

After a fair amount of googling, I've found a listing of AT instructors who teach within a reasonable drive of me. All offer group and private lessons (and in any case,
    I think that the group versus private question is a separate issue that belongs in a separate thread, so others after me can find the information they need.) They are also of both genders, although all claim to lead and follow. But again, I think sex of the instructor is a separate (but interesting) topic.

Here are a couple of biographies (with identifying information redacted to protect the innocent.)

Okay. So here are the questions. How much difference does it make whom your teacher studied with? For an absolute beginner, such as myself, do pedigrees really matter? How much should that type of thing weigh, when selecting an instructor? etc.

Please discuss while I watch. ;) :D
  2. AndaBien

AndaBien Well-Known Member

It might give an indication of what they know, or how they dance. It might not.

I would think you should pick a teacher that you feel some affinity for, whether for classes or privates.

I suggest you should be guided by your own thoughts and feelings, more than those of others.

It's not like buying a car, that you'll be stuck with for a while. If you decide your teacher is not working out after a week or a month, just go to someone else.
    B. Reguise and Subliminal like this.
  3. tangomonkey

tangomonkey Active Member

1) Very little difference, IMO. First of all, you can never be sure what "studied with" really means. Was it as an observer in a masterclass or as a participant, who received direct feedback from the instructor?; was it in a group class, and how many of them were there?; was it in private lessons, and how many of them over how many months/years?.