General Dance Discussion > Dance Instructor Training Offering

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by TripDubSki, Jun 5, 2017.

1. TripDubSki

TripDubSki New Member

Hi guys,

I'm new to the forums as well as the world of dance. I did have a question for anyone that may have been through a similar experience as me, and I would like some insight. I've only had 2 private lessons, and 3 group lessons, but it was enough for me to understand that I really enjoy dancing! I have so much fun with it and I love meeting new people.

However, due to some issues with my piece of garbage car, I could no longer afford the lessons as the money I had set aside for them are now going into payments for a new car. This was a bit upsetting, but life goes on. I brought this up to the studio director during my last lesson, and he offered to pay for training as a dance instructor.

This caught me as a surprise seeing how I have little to zero dance experience. He told me that he loved my enthusiasm and could envision me as a potential dance instructor. What I want to know is:

How common is this?
    Has anyone had this offer come up to them, and did they follow through? (How was it)??

This one goes out to current instructors:
    How do you steel your mind against romantic notions towards your students?
    How do you handle moving from studio to studio, leaving behind your coworkers and former instructors?

This all seems very mentally taxing. I feel like the most difficult part about being an instructor is the mental battle. Having the ability to not get attached to anyone you're instructing seems key in this field. I would really like some opinions, insights, anecdotes, and whatever else you may want to add before I take up this offer.